MINI Classic Motorsport Old

5. First overall rally win with a speed queen at the helm

MINI was born to race. Just three years after its unveiling to the public, speed queen Pat Moss and co-driver Ann Wisdom won the Tulip Rally outright in the Netherlands with a classic Morris Mini Cooper 997cc. The landmark win began the legacy for one of the most successful brands in motorsport history.

MINI Classic Motorsport

4. Maiden title for the mini WRC

Back in autumn 2013, Luis Monzón claimed the first title for the MINI John Cooper Works WRC in the Spanish Tarmac Rally Championship. Five wins in six rounds secured him the title with two events remaining.

dam Image

3. MINI in the most beautiful hell on earth

The Nürburgring Nordschleife’s beautiful setting is deceptive, as it is host to one of the most difficult motorsport events in the world. In 2013 MINI successfully mastered the challenge again, despite the rain and thick fog. Finishing with a remarkable result, the team completed 73 laps in a field of 180, conquering the Nürburgring and motoring on to race another day.

dam Image

2. Hat trick at the Dakar Rally

In 2014, MINI ALL4 Racing not only won their third consecutive Dakar Rally, they also seized 1st, 2nd and 3rd place, making it an all-MINI podium. Taking 5 of the top 6 spots, the team was the clear winner of the arduous 13-day race across South America. 

dam Image

1. MINI crosses the finish line and makes history

On January 24th 1964, Patrick Barron ‘Paddy’ Hopkirk and Henry Liddon shocked the world when they rode their Morris Mini Cooper ‘S’ into the history books at the Monte Carlo Rally. For the first time MINI became the undisputed champion of the most important race on the motorsport calendar, a title that would be achieved again in the 1965 and 1967 Monte Carlo rallies. It was a feat that secured MINI its place among motorsport nobility.